involved in national meetings and divisional affairs. Welcome aboard!

Al Kirsch

REPORT OF THE PROGRAM CHAIR

Two symposia and the Dexter Award/General Papers Session were featured at the Los Angeles ACS meeting, held on 25-30 September 1988. The first symposium, held Monday morning and afternoon, was the Golden Anniversary Symposium in Celebration of the Hahn-Strassmann Experiments and the Discovery of Nuclear Fission. Organized by Leonard Fine of Columbia University, the symposium covered the scientific perspective, the historical perspective and the literary perspective. Speakers were, for the most part, persons who had been at the cutting edge of nuclear research and have made many notable contributions to our knowledge of fission and fission products. Among them were Alfred O. Nier, Glenn T. Seaborg, John Wheeler and Ellis Steinberg. Much of the historical perspective centered around the contributions of Lise Meitner. the centerpiece of which was a remarkable paper by Ruth Sime, Lise Meitner's biographer. Finally, Richard Rhodes, winner of the 1987 National Book Award in nonfiction for his book, The Making of the Atomic Bomb, delivered a thought-provoking paper on the complementarity of the bomb. Mr. Rhodes' thesis is that knowledge of how to release nuclear energy has led not only to a nuclear arms race of potentially holocaustal proportions but also to a slow but progressive and irreversible modification of the system of nation-states, detaching national sovereignty from the power to make war. The symposium was punctuated by a luncheon in honor of the speakers.

The second symposium, Information Sources in the History of Chemistry: California and the West Coast, was organized by Harold Goldwhite of California State University, Los Angeles. This symposium was the fourth in a series which included the Midwest (St. Louis meeting), the East Coast (Philadelphia meeting) and specialty libraries (New York meeting). Speakers representing the majorWest Coast libraries with important holdings in the history of chemistry expounded upon their collections with a view to aiding the serious researcher in the history of chemistry. Among them were Katharine Donohue of the Louise Darling Biomedical Library at UCLA, Robin Rider from the Bancroft Library of UC-Berkeley, Paula Hurwitz from the Millikan Memorial Library at Cal Tech, Thomas F. Wright of the William Andrews Clark Library, and Daniel Woodward of the Huntington Library.

The Dexter Award/General Papers Session had as its dual highlight a paper by the 1988 Dexter Award recipient, L. F. Haber, entitled "Historians and the Chemical Industry," and the Divisional Cachet Paper on James Curtis Booth, Eighth President of the American Chemical Society. Other papers included discussion of Fourcroy's *Elemens*, Otto Bayer and the History of the Division of the History of Chemistry. The session concluded with adjournment to the Dexter Award Luncheon, where Dr. Haber received his prize and where Jeff Sturchio, incoming Program Chairman of HIST, received the Division's Outstanding Paper Award for 1988.

Mary Virginia Orna, College of New Rochelle

ELECTION RESULTS

Dr. Jack H. Stocker of the University of New Orleans has been elected as Chair of the Division of the History of Chemistry for 1990; Dr. William B. Jensen of the University of Cincinnati, has been reelected as Secretary and Mary Virginia Orna of the College of New Rochelle has been elected as Treasurer. Dr. Jeffrey L. Sturchio of AT&T Bell Labs will succeed Dr. Orna as Program Chair.

NOTES FROM MEMBERS

John Sharkey (Pace University) has been reappointed to the Local Section Activities Committee of the ACS and has been elected President of the Chemistry and Physics on Stamps Study Unit of the American Topical Association.

Ted Benfey (Beckman Center) has recently retired from Guilford College and has accepted the position of Publications Editor at the Beckman Center for the History of Chemistry in Philadelphia.

Raymond Seymour (University of Southern Mississippi) has received the 1989 Society of Plastics' International Award. Previous winners have included Paul Flory, Carl Marvel and Herman Mark.

EVENTS OF INTEREST

* The 18th International Congress of History of Science will be held on 1-9 August 1989 in Hamburg and Munich, Federal Republic of Germany. Interested parties should contact Alexandra K. Wigdor, Principal Staff Officer, U.S. National Committee for the International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science, 2101 Constitution Ave. [GF 176], Washington, D.C. 20418, Phone (202) 334-3026.

* The Hangzhou International Conference of Chinese Scientific and Technological History will be held on 5-10 May 1989 in Hangzhou, China. Interested parties should contact Dr. Li Zihen or Dr. Ji Jinghang, Department of International Exchange Affairs, Hangzhou Association for Science and Technology, No. 211, Yan'an Road, Hangzhou, P.R. China.